Crisis Response Journal

The Institution of Fire Engineers


:: Cat 1 & 2 Responders

Civil Contingencies Act 2004:
list of ‘First Responders’

Schedule 1 of the Civil Contingencies Act 2004 lists the ‘first responders’, subject to its provisions. As described in Annex 1A, the Act splits local responders into two categories and imposes a different set of requirements on each category. Category 1 and 2 responders in England and Wales are listed below.

Emergency services

  • Police forces
  • British Transport
  • Fire authorities
  • Ambulance services
  • Maritime and Coastguard Agency

Local authorities

  • All principal local authorities (i.e. metropolitan districts, shire counties, shire districts, shire unitaries)
  • Port health authorities

Health bodies

  • Primary Care Trusts
  • Acute Trusts
  • Foundation Trusts
  • Local Health Boards (in Wales)
  • Any Welsh NHS Trust that provides public health services
  • Health Protection Agency

Government agencies

  • Environment Agency

Category 2 responders ("co-operating responders"):


  • Electricity distributors and transmitters
  • Gas distributors
  • Water and sewerage undertakers
  • Telephone service providers (fixed and mobile)


  • Railway operators
  • Train operating companies (passenger and freight)
  • London Underground
  • Transport for London
  • Airport operators
  • Harbour authorities
  • Highways Agency

Health bodies

  • Strategic Health Authorities

Government agencies

  • Health and Safety Executive